Forgot WiFi Network on MacBook Mac Or Stop Auto Join

How to Forget Wi-Fi Network on Mac, MacBook, Stop Automatically Connect WiFi

Your Mac is equipped with both Ethernet and Wi-Fi Internet connectivity options; except the MacBooks. But usually, we used to go for, Wi-Fi connectivity just to avoid the tangling of Ethernet cable. Nevertheless, the Wi-Fi could also create a mess, when you’ve connected Mac with more than one Wi-Fi network. Just like our iPhone, the Mac also has the ability to store Wi-Fi networks, so whenever the Mac is in range to that Wi-Fi network, it automatically gets connected.

If you feel like, this Wi-Fi network is no longer useful for me, but still Mac gets connected every time, in that case, I’d advise you to delete the Wi-Fi Network from Mac, MacBook.

we are happy to help you, submit this Form, if your solution is not covered in this article.

My Personal Experience: I’ve had a scene, whenever I try to connect Wi-Fi to iPhone’s Personal Hotspot, it won’t work until I forget the Wi-Fi network that I’m not using currently. So, if you ever stuck in such a situation, where internet connection doesn’t work on Mac but works perfectly for other devices, forget the rest of Wi-Fi networks from the Mac, it will definitely help you.

How to Forget Wi-Fi Network on Mac, MacBook

It’s a fairly easy and quick process to delete the Wi-Fi network on MacBook Pro, Mac. Once, you forget the Wi-Fi network, it will no longer connect to Mac unless you are doing it manually.

  1. On the Top-Right screen, Click on the Wi-Fi symbol on Mac Menu Bar.
    • If the Wi-Fi icon is not showing up on Mac Menu Bar, then Click on Apple Logo () From Top Mac Menu > System Preferences > Network > Wi-Fi tab > Advanced option.

      Open Network Preferences on Mac MacBook
      Open Network Preferences on Mac MacBook
  2. Select Open Network Preferences.
  3. Click on Advanced under WiFi.

    Find Advanced WiFi settings on MacBook Mac
    Find Advanced WiFi settings on MacBook Mac
  4. Choose the Wi-Fi Network that you want to forget. Click on it and under the box, click on the Minus(-) icon to remove the Wi-Fi network.

    remove WiFi Network from mac Network Preferences
    remove WiFi Network from mac Network Preferences
  5. You can even select multiple Wi-Fi Networks by pressing the Command button and clicking on Wi-Fi networks.
  6. Confirm by clicking Remove. Once, you are done with deleting Wi-Fi networks on Mac, click OK.

    Save the changes after remove network on Mac
    Save the changes after remove network on Mac
  7. Click on Apply.

    Apply Changes for Network settings on Macbook Mac
    Apply Changes for Network settings on Macbook Mac
  8. That’s it.

This is it! Next time, you’ll need to enter the password and manually connect to Wi-Fi Network, if you have forgotten that network.

Don’t Remove Wi-Fi Network, Instead, Disable Auto Join WiFi Feature

If automatic connection is the only reason, why are you forgetting the Wi-Fi network, then deselect the Auto Join checkbox feature to disable the function?

  1. Click on Apple Logo () From Top Mac Menu.
  2. Select System Preferences.

    Finder System Preferences option on Mac
    Finder System Preferences option on Mac
  3. Then, click on Networks.
  4. On the right side, click on Wi-Fi.
  5. Back to the main screen, click on Advanced.

    Stop Auto-Join WiFi Network on MacBook Mac
    Stop Auto-Join WiFi Network on MacBook Mac
  6. After choosing the Wi-Fi tab, uncheck the Auto Join next to the Wi-Fi network to avoid the auto-connecting of the Wi-Fi network. Click on Ok to Save and Apply for changes.
  7. That’s it.

Thank You! Share your feedback on the comment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *